Shadow Crawlers. Part 39.

It’s the weekend, yay!

I’m absolutely wrecked the last few days, don’t really know what it is, but it isn’t fun. I have a bunch of books I got recently too that I want to crack into, but I’ve been too tired to read.
The last few days have just been a haze of being really, really tired. Never a good thing, but I’m sure I’ll be fine in a few days.

Hope everyone has a good one!
__________________________________________________

 

Part 1, Part 38

“Ok, so you guys are going to stay here for the moment.”
“Why can’t we just go into hiding now?”
“She’ll track you down, the changes around here will confuse her, you’ll have more time to get away.”
“So if you do lose, we’re just going to have to keep running forever?”
“Pretty much.”
“Great. Any ideas as to where we can start?”
“No, but you have contacts, you’ll be able to disappear, you just need to be careful, that’s all.”
“And what if she turns into some kind of evil overlord?”
“Then you keep your head down and go along with it.”
“This isn’t exactly filling me with confidence you know.”
“Just get somewhere far. Leave the country if you have to. It will take her a while to follow if you do, she doesn’t like the water.”
“Why?”
“She can’t control it. It unnerves her I think.”

Ed took a long drink from his beer, “I’ve set up the tunnels. They’ll let you through but stop anyone else. They’ll twist and change, and if someone gets too close to the end, they’ll collapse.”
“What’s to stop them collapsing while we’re inside?”
“They’ll be safe once you’re inside. When you leave it’ll collapse a short while after.”
“What if we have to retreat?”
“They’ll keep going for as long as possible, but retreating should be your very last resort. If you think you can get through, go for it.”
“How far do the tunnels go?”
“A couple of miles, I’m not sure. Maybe forty or so.”
“You expect us to walk that?”
“What else are you supposed to do?”
“Christ. We’ll pick up some bikes, store them down there. I suppose a car would be too big?”
“I can make them wider.”
“No, don’t we don’t want to accidentally kill ourselves by crashing or something.”
“Bikes will be faster, but will we be able for it? I haven’t biked in years” Amy turned to Simon, “Can Joey ride a bike?”
“He took the training wheels off a week or so before we got here. He can, but I don’t know if he could do forty miles, it’s a helluva lot.”
“Right, can we get mopeds or something?”
“How are we supposed to pay for that?”
“I’m sure Rose will cover it.”
“How long will that take?”
“Maybe two hours or so, we’ll be going slow in case of sudden turns.”
“I can make the tunnels straight, they’ll change behind you, but you won’t have to worry about it.”
“Ok, so it won’t take us that long then, maybe an hour at most.”
Ed thought for a moment, “Will that be far enough? I should make them longer.”
“We’ll need to pack food too, and water.”
“That’s not a concern really, there’ll be shops once we get out of the tunnels. What are we going to do about lights? The tunnels will be pitch black.”
“I can take care of that. I’ll line it with fire, it won’t burn you.”
“Ok, so we have a plan then.” Amy started scribbling a list on a pad of paper in front of her. “Myself and Grady will go out and get the supplies we’ll need, you guys can plan your attack.”
She looked at Brett, “Are you sure you don’t want to come with us? I mean you won’t be able to do much.”
“I have to stay with Rose, I’m going to provide further distraction, set off fireworks, that kind of stuff.”
“If you’re sure, but I really think you should come with us.”
“I know, but I’m staying.”
“Ok, well we’ve already talked about it, so I guess you’re sure. What are we going to do about a meeting place? What if she tortures it out of you or something?”
Grady shot Amy a look, “What, I’m being realistic here. I don’t want to die because we planned this sloppily.”
“We’ll call you. After ten the next morning. If it’s before that, you’ll know something’s wrong. We’ll also have a code word to use, one for safe, one for danger. If it’s the danger one, give a fake location, somewhere far away.”
“How about pineapple for danger and apple for safe?”
“No one is going to remember that.”
“Apples are green. Green is safe. It’s easy.”
“Pineapples are yellow, why not choose like strawberries or something?”
“Fine, strawberry and apple. Wait. Reverse them. That way she’ll think you’re going along with it. Apple is danger, strawberry is safe.”
“You’re ridiculous. You know that right?”
“You’re just jealous of my espionage skills.”
Grady shook her head. “Right, fine, that’s decided. Do you have the shopping list?”
“Yep, right here.”
“Ok, so will we leave you guys to plan your attack? Once you’ve come up with something tell us and we can see if there’s any problems that you missed. We’ll go and get the supplies while you’re doing it.”
Amy folded her list and tucked it and a pen into her pocket.

“Anyone want anything before we go?”
“Get something nice for dinner.”
“Ok, got it.”
Amy and Grady left the room, feeling grim. Amy suspected that it was going to be a final meal for most of them. Rose followed them and brought them upstairs to get them money. They had been selling bits and pieces to get an easy cash flow going. Rose had told Amy and Grady that someone could be tracking her bank accounts, that it was dangerous to use ATM’s.

“You’re going to have to make us bunkers to hide in before the battle starts, make them as strong as possible so we can fight  from them, but remain protected, it would be best if there were a few that we could travel between, it will be harder for us to be pinned down, maybe a few escape routes built in as well. Set them up in a ring, but have tunnels connecting to each of them. You can collapse any tunnels that are breached.”
Ed nodded, “That seems like a good plan, I won’t be able to protect you Simon, you’ll have to be exposed, otherwise she’ll know I’m there and assume the rest of us are too.”

“I understand. I’ll set up my own defences. Don’t worry about that. I’m sure there are a few traps I can set up in advance. I’ll have them go off once certain conditions are met. I’ll include a few suicide ones, just in case. If the entire area goes I might be able to escape in the confusion.”
Rose returned to the kitchen, “Right they’re gone. When they get back just change Brett’s part of the plan to something boring. That should fool them.”
“I’ve been thinking that we need Grady, or at least she needs to know what’s going on.”
“She could be useful, but if she freaks out and runs, we’ll only have one option.”
“I already told you we’re not doing that to her.”
“Fine. Then tell her or write it down or something. You figure it out if you’re so keen to keep her around.”

About Alan James Keogh

I am a 24 year old writer who somehow tricked U.C.D. into giving me not only a degree in English and Classical studies, but an Hons Masters in Creative Writing too. Visit my blog where I post short stories twice a week (Monday and Wednesday) and an installment of a serialised novel on Fridays. I did consider writing this in the third person, as though it was written by someone else, but Alan is not comfortable writing in the third person as it seems kinda creepy and unbalanced so Alan decided it was probably best to write in the first person. He hopes it went well for him.
This entry was posted in Series and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shadow Crawlers. Part 39.

  1. Pingback: Shadow Crawlers. Part 40. | Alan James Keogh

Leave a Reply

