Shadow Crawlers. Part 50

Part 1, Part 49

Amy and Grady sat in a large meeting room, alone. Before them sat two untouched cups of coffee and water bottles. The room held a large oval table and comfortable chairs, on one end there was a large projector and the other a retractable screen. Both Amy and Grady sat facing the door, behind them was a large, floor to floor window, there were parts of it that opened, but much to Grady’s dismay, they only opened a few inches, enough to allow fresh air, but not wide enough to fit a person. Though Grady did admit to herself that they couldn’t get out that way, even if the windows did open, as it was a five story drop outside. Grady picked up the water bottle and inspected the lid, after being satisfied the bottle was still sealed she unscrewed it and took a gulp, beneath that her stomach rumbled gently. They had been brought to some kind of holding cell underneath the building, then marched up here, in between that they had been given no food or water. Amy waited for a moment, then followed suit. They sat in tense silence, waiting for someone to enter. When someone did, they were surprised to see it was a middle aged woman pushing a cart, she placed a few boxed sandwiched onto the table, followed by some bags of crisps and a plate of pastries. Once the food was in place, she put down fresh cups and a pot of hot tea, followed by what appeared to be a thermos of coffee, when she was done she left the room. The entire thing happened in silence. When the woman left, Grady grabbed a bag of crisps and pulled them open, when she had eaten them she eyed the sandwiches.
“Fuck it. If they wanted to drug us they’d have done it already, right?”
She grabbed over a few and read the labels, she selected one and tore it open, Amy took a donut, then when she was finished, she grabbed a sandwich too.

“Yeah, if I was doing it, I’d have drugged the water and we seem fine so far.”
“Plus, easier to think on a full stomach.”

When they were both done, they waited, expecting to feel drowsy, but nothing happened. Grady stood and started to pace the room, finally she stopped and started out the window, watching the cars as they drove through the network of roads. She jumped when the door opened and whirled around, standing in the doorway was a man in his late forties, greying hair, slightly tanned skin, black suit. He moved into the room, “I’m sorry about all this. If I thought you’d have come willingly I wouldn’t have had to resort to such violent measures.”
He sat down at the table, “I’m Frederick Stephenson, you can call me Fred if you like.”
Grady sat down beside Amy, “we-”

“Oh I know all about you, Grady, as you like to be called, and Amy, thieves, career criminals I guess. I’ve done my homework. You also possess something very special, something that only you and I can do, but I don’t want to get too far ahead of myself. First things first, I am not a monster, I’m truly sorry for having to take you in like that. You were lied to. I am not hunting anyone, I don’t want anyone dead. The man you knew as Brett has been dead for some time. As has the woman who goes by Rose and the man who goes by Ed. The creatures cannot take corporeal form by themselves, they need a human body. Simon is the same as the other two, same with Alice. Each one murdered a human and took their body for themselves. That might make them sound evil, but they are not quite that bad. They have separate wants and desires, sure, but at the core of it, they are tools. Now, you may not believe me quite yet and I understand that as it is a lot to take in, but I am telling the truth and I will prove it to you. These creatures cannot disobey their masters and their masters are the ones who open the containers they were trapped in. I have control of the one named Brett. Grady, you can control Rose and Alice while Amy you can control Ed.”
Grady stared at Fred, “if you’re really telling the truth, then prove it.”
The blinds on the windows started to close, casting the room in shadows.
“You will try this for yourselves soon, but first I want to show you a video.”
The projector came to life, on the large screen appeared Brett, Fred’s voice could be heard.
“Jump.”
Brett jumped.
“Drink water.”

Brett picked up a glass of water and started to drink.
“Spit it out.”
Brett complied.
“Now, smash the glass and cut yourself.”
Brett broke the glass and picked up a shard, “Not too deeply.”

He cut his hand shallowly, “Stop.’
Brett stopped.

“Now, tell me the truth. Were you born in that body?”
“No. I took it.”
“Who from?”
“A man named Brett.”
“And where is this man?”
“His soul is locked away, rotting until it will die.”
“Thank you Brett, that is all. Sit.”
Brett sat on the bed.
The screen faded to black.
“No of course you probably think that I manipulated it all somehow, that we threatened him, that is also understandable, but you will get to conduct your own experiments to prove what I have said. If you like I could also command Brett to leave that body and take another form, but I would prefer not to kill some poor innocent person. While you are here you will be completely safe from them, until you can control them completely, they cannot use their powers inside the building, and before you get any ideas in order for that to stop, the entire building would need to be demolished. I know it is a lot to ask, but I hope that you will trust me. Just a little bit at first, just to try and see what happens. In time I hope that we can become friends and, if not friends, then peers.”

Fred stood from the table, “I have given you a lot to digest. You will be taken to your rooms, everything has been provided for, but if you need something do not hesitate to ask. Unfortunately I cannot allow you to leave the building just yet. I have some information on these creatures that we have dug up, you will each find a copy in your rooms. You are free to move about the building itself, however it will be monitored. Good day ladies, I will speak with you soon. Once you are ready there is a young man outside, Andy, who will lead you to your rooms.”
He left the room.
“So, what do you think?”
“I think he’s batshit and we don’t have a choice.”
Grady stood from the table, “I just hope the others aren’t being hurt.”

Together, Amy and Grady stepped into the hallway.

About Alan James Keogh

I am a 24 year old writer who somehow tricked U.C.D. into giving me not only a degree in English and Classical studies, but an Hons Masters in Creative Writing too. Visit my blog where I post short stories twice a week (Monday and Wednesday) and an installment of a serialised novel on Fridays. I did consider writing this in the third person, as though it was written by someone else, but Alan is not comfortable writing in the third person as it seems kinda creepy and unbalanced so Alan decided it was probably best to write in the first person. He hopes it went well for him.
This entry was posted in Series and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shadow Crawlers. Part 50

  1. Pingback: Shadow Crawlers. Part 51 | Alan James Keogh

Leave a Reply

