Shadow Crawlers. Part 52

I was in my sisters for a few days, which was fun, though a little stressful at times. There were three dogs, (four including the neighbours dog who came over constantly) that had to be monitored most of the time.

It was really nice over all though, and the weather was pretty good, so that helped immensely.

On with the show!

________________________________________________________

Part 1, Part 51

Rose sat alone in her cell, trying to keep herself calm. They had tried to bribe and coerce her into tests but she had refused them all. She didn’t care if they tortured the others, she didn’t care if they killed any of them, she didn’t care about Joey and the agony they promised to put him through, the more they talked and threatened the angrier she became. Who were they to threaten her? She was more powerful than any of them, she was designed to be a weapon, to kill and destroy, they were nothing. Their newest tactic seemed to be keeping food from her. She wondered how long they would keep that up before they broke. She knew they wouldn’t try to kill her, they couldn’t after all and they seemed to be too afraid to actually come into her cell. Rose didn’t know what they thought would happen if she agreed to do anything they said, but she doubted anyone would come into to take bloods or bring her for scans. The only thing that kept her calm was her knowledge that they would fuck up sooner or later, they always did. They were shallow, fickle creatures. She knew she would triumph. Sure they had the girls, but they couldn’t hurt Grady or Amy, and once Grady didn’t roll over like a dog she’d be ok. Even if that did happen, Rose would survive, she always did.

Alice sat in her cell, smiling politely as a young man drew blood from her arm. She could feel it inside, pulsing steadily, the delicious heady flow. She had been entirely cooperative since being brought in and as she suspected, they began to let their guards down. Her only goal was to escape, leave the others to rot in here. Maybe take a few of the people to make cells of her own for the rest of her kind. It would be beautiful. She could control them all. The young man removed the needle and Alice suppressed a shiver, the blood in the tube called to her, the blood in the young mans veins called to her, but there was nothing she could do. Not here. The man smiled at her, at some point he had given a name, but she couldn’t remember it. It wasn’t important.
“Thank you.”
“You’re welcome.”
“Any other tests scheduled today?”
“They were talking about doing an MRI and a brain scan, but I’m not sure if that’s gotten the go ahead yet.”
Alice nodded, “could you ask if I could maybe have something to pass the time? Like a book or a TV or something?”
“I’ll ask.”
“Thank you.”
Alice smiled, if she could get one thing, she could get something else. She just had to build on the requests. She had to be nice and polite, perfectly pleasant, until they dropped their guards. It wouldn’t take too long. A few months, maybe a year at most. Then she’d be able to convince someone to take her outside, maybe one of the techs. They all seemed to think she was cute, Alice wasn’t quite sure if it was in a sexual or older brother kind of way yet, but either would work to her advantage. Once she was outside she could burn through a few bodies and slip away undetected. They’d have a hard time tracking her down again. She knew the others must have been working with these people, they had been captured too, but obviously they had been double crossed. They wanted to cage her again, keep her neatly locked away for ever. That was never going to happen, it never could happen. They knew it and so did she, yet still they persisted in trying to lock her away. No matter what was done, she’d find a way to escape. A young woman wheeled in a tray with food on it, the young man left, they were getting lax about the door, if she didn’t suspect the place was heavily fortified she’d try break past them. Perhaps it was some kind of test, to see if they could trust her. The nurse stopped the cart in front of Alice,
“Thank you, it looks delicious.”

“Hopefully it is. If you have any requests let us know, we’ll do our best to accommodate it.”
“This should do nicely.”
The young woman left the room, leaving Alice to her food. She ate slowly, it was quite nice, but it wasn’t what she truly wanted. She wanted to feel the hot blood that pumped in their veins, wanted the heady feeling of total control. The food in her mouth seemed to turn thick and difficult to swallow, but she managed to force it down. She had to remain calm, in control, she couldn’t let herself get carried away.

Grady, Amy and Fred stood together, watching Alice eat. Around them lab technicians scurried about their jobs.
“She doesn’t look that dangerous. I thought she’d be scarier looking.”
“None of them look as dangerous as they are. They are able to camouflage themselves perfectly. They adapt to survive.”
“And you’re saying I can control her.”
“Most definitely. You were the one who opened the locket, correct?”
“Yeah, I guess.”
“Press that button there, on the left and give her a command.”
Grady pressed the button, cleared her throat, then

“Stop eating.”

Alice stopped.
“Put the cutlery down and stand.”
Alice stood.

“Now now, she could just be docile at the moment, go for something a little more interesting please.”
“I have questions, you will answer them. Why did you want to kill Rose, Simon Brett and Ed?”
“They trapped me. They imprisoned me and left me to rot. They deserve the same.”
“Why did you try to kill me, Amy and Joey?”
“Amy was collateral damage, I care little for her, she is their pet. Joey was a means to manipulate Simon, I killed his wife out of punishment. They left me in pain, he deserves to feel a fraction of it. You. I cannot kill you. I want to, but I can’t harm you physically.”
“Why can’t you harm me?”
“You released me. I am yours.”

“What does that mean?”
“I must follow your orders. I cannot disobey you.”
“Why?”
“It’s how I am made. To protect those who wield my powers.”
“I order you not to kill Amy or any of the others.”
Alice nodded stiffly.
“I order you not to harm them either.”

A brief scowl flashed across her face.
“I will not kill or injure them.”
Grady took her finger off the button.
“See? They’ll all be receptive like that. I would offer you a live demonstration on someone, but I can’t spare anyone.”
“Is that because you think I’ll use her to kill, or because I can’t actually control her.”
“I trust you. I don’t trust her. She had been doing this for a long, long time. It wouldn’t surprise me if she has found loopholes. For example, you closed one there when you ordered her not to harm, she could have tortured any one of your friends to the brink of death and still be following your orders as long as she didn’t kill them. You are inexperienced still. With time you will gain better control.”

Fred stepped away from the screen,

“Now, if you follow me, we’ll be visiting the rest of your so called friends.”

About Alan James Keogh

I am a 24 year old writer who somehow tricked U.C.D. into giving me not only a degree in English and Classical studies, but an Hons Masters in Creative Writing too. Visit my blog where I post short stories twice a week (Monday and Wednesday) and an installment of a serialised novel on Fridays. I did consider writing this in the third person, as though it was written by someone else, but Alan is not comfortable writing in the third person as it seems kinda creepy and unbalanced so Alan decided it was probably best to write in the first person. He hopes it went well for him.
This entry was posted in Series and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shadow Crawlers. Part 52

  1. Pingback: Shadow Crawlers. Part 53 | Alan James Keogh

Leave a Reply

