Shadow Crawlers. Part 53

Part 1, Part 52

Grady was relieved when they left Alice, if Frank was telling the truth, it was almost scary to think she could control something so powerful and terrifying. They stood outside of Roses room, looking in at her. Grady didn’t want to try and control her, didn’t want to do this. Rose had, after all, protected them in some way. Rose was lying on her bed, eyes closed, breathing slowly.
“She’s asleep, there’s no point in waking her up. If you threatened Alice to make her do what I said, you’d have done the same to her.”
Frank shrugged, “it’s up to you, I’m not forcing you to do anything. I just want you to believe me. If you like you could visit her another time, have a nice, long chat.”
Grady nodded, together they left.
Ed was sitting on his bed, eating a sandwich,

“Amy, you may try to control him if you like.”
“That’s ok.”
Frank sighed, “You’re going to have to do it sooner or later. You can ask him anything you know, he can’t lie.”
Ed had been a little standoffish to them all, but he had been perfectly polite and mostly pleasant. Amy looked at Frank for a second, “fine.”
She pressed the button.

“Did Brett and Rose lie to us about who and what you are?”
“Yes. They told me to pretend I was some kind of powerful god like creature. They had told you some story and wanted me to play along.”

“Why did you do it?”
“They knew the situation better than I did. They didn’t want any harm coming to any of you. They wanted to protect you both physically and mentally. They suspected that you might run if you knew the truth. It would have been dangerous with Alice on the loose.”
“Why didn’t you tell me any of this?”
“I’m not required to. In the past anyone who has opened my vessel has known what they were doing, or, if not, they found themselves face to face with me and figured it out quickly.”

Rose let go of the button and thought for a second, she frowned, then pressed it again.

“Who controls Simon?”
Ed shrugged, “Simon.”

“How?”
“I don’t know.”

Ed took a bite of his sandwich.
Amy stepped away from the glass.
“Shall we move on?”
Amy nodded.
Simon was huddled on his bed, he was pale, dark circles around his eyes, he looked sick, gaunt.
“What have you been doing to him?”
“We’ve ran some tests, nothing invasive. He hasn’t been sleeping, any time he does he’s woken by nightmares. We are doing nothing bad to him, if that is your concern. We think it’s from the death of his wife.”
“Have you let him see Joey yet?”
“No, we have not.”
“He’s worried that you’re going to hurt his kid. What about Joey? What are you saying to him? That his dad is dead?”
“We told Joey his dad was sick and that he couldn’t visit him. We’re not monsters.”
“Let them see each other.”
“We wanted to wait until Simon was stable.”
“He’s not going to hurt Joey.”
“We’ll arrange a meeting for them. Supervised so nothing can happen.”
Frank led them away from the window, “Where’s Joey?”
“He’s in a room not unlike your own. He has books, a TV and a video game system, during the day he can spend time with some of the workers children and we have tutors in, to make sure he doesn’t fall behind his studies.”

“Can we see him?”
“Soon, if I’m not mistaken he isn’t feeling too well at the moment.”
“Gee, I wonder why?”
“That was regrettable, but it needed to be done, for our own safety and the safety of Joey himself.”
They continued walking the halls in silence. After a few minutes, they arrived back at the rooms.
“We’re preparing an area for you, so you can go outside with those you’re linked with and test them properly. You will be safe. It will be impossible for them to break anything or hurt anyone, outside the area their powers will cease to work. I can see why you’d think I’m the bad guy, I really do. Remember, they aren’t really people, the only one who is a person is Joey, the rest of them stole their bodies, they lied to you, manipulated you. I’ve been nothing but honest and up front. I’m not you’re enemy, but neither are they. I want you to be able to control them, then, I’ll send you on your way once you’ve learned what you can do. They’ll be linked to you up until your death, if I wanted I could have had you both killed and found others to take your place, but I don’t want that. I don’t want you hurt or injured. I want you to understand the power you have, the responsibility. Once you leave you can have them do what ever you like, if you wish you can order them to stay hidden for the rest of your life, you can have them protect you, help others, the possibilities are almost endless. I know about you both, I know what you do. I know you like the danger. Neither of you are drug addicts, you’re not stealing to feed an addiction, it is the addiction. You get money, power, anything you want, but in doing so it’s detrimental to others. With this though, this you can have everything you want while changing to world for the better. You can help people, save people. I must get back to work, but think about how you’ve been treated, by us and by your so called friends. You’ll see the difference.”
Frank shook both their hands, then left.
“I got a very distinct, “I’m super evil.” Vibe from that little speech.”
“Yeah, it did kinda seem movie villanesque.”

They stepped into Amy’s room, the files were still where they had left them. Grady’s stomach rumbled slightly,
“I guess this big ass corporation has endless money, right?”
“Sure.”
“So, what’s the most expensive thing you can think of for dinner?”

 

About Alan James Keogh

I am a 26 year old writer who somehow tricked U.C.D. into giving me not only a degree in English and Classical studies, but an Hons Masters in Creative Writing too. Visit my blog where I post short stories twice a week (Monday and Wednesday) and an installment of a serialised novel on Fridays. I did consider writing this in the third person, as though it was written by someone else, but Alan is not comfortable writing in the third person as it seems kinda creepy and unbalanced so Alan decided it was probably best to write in the first person. He hopes it went well for him.
This entry was posted in Series and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shadow Crawlers. Part 53

  1. Pingback: Shadow Crawlers. Part 54 | Alan James Keogh

Leave a Reply

