On the 400th Short Story Being Posted. Blog Post.

Holy fuck.

Four hundred short stories.

Four. Zero. Zero.

When I started this I remember thinking I just wanted to make it to three months and then I’d be over the hump of (apparently) the stopping point of a lot of blogs.

That was what? Three and a halfish years ago. That’s some large number times 3 months! (This isn’t a math blog for a reason people.)

In that time I’ve written and posted 400 short stories. Wanna know how many words that was?

I did, so I worked it out, cos I’m awesome that way.

it was approx 556,100 words.

That’s over half a million.

On top of that there were 3 series, which together spanned across approx 245,000 words.

In total I’ve posted approximately 800,000 words, that’s just fiction too. I’m not including the bits before stories where I drone on about stuff (frankly I’m far to lazy too lazy to figure out that one.)

I don’t even really know what to say to that.

I mean, in the abstract, I knew I’d written a fair amount, that it was probably a lot, but I never really stopped to think about how much it was exactly. It’s pretty mind blowing to be honest.

After a few months of this blog, when it was clear to me that I wasn’t going to just stop one day, I decided on a new goal. It couldn’t just be something small or piddling, like 3 months. No. It had to be bigger, better. So my new goal became to keep this going until at least 1,000 short stories and I’m well on my way towards that number, even if it takes five years from now, I plan to hit that number.

I enjoy doing this, I enjoy writing and I plan to keep going for a long, long time.

 

(This is now the point where something ironically happens to leave my hands crippled or I end up illiterate or something because I said that, isn’t it?)

About Alan James Keogh

I am a 24 year old writer who somehow tricked U.C.D. into giving me not only a degree in English and Classical studies, but an Hons Masters in Creative Writing too. Visit my blog where I post short stories twice a week (Monday and Wednesday) and an installment of a serialised novel on Fridays. I did consider writing this in the third person, as though it was written by someone else, but Alan is not comfortable writing in the third person as it seems kinda creepy and unbalanced so Alan decided it was probably best to write in the first person. He hopes it went well for him.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

