New Town. Part 26

Sorry this is up late, I’m having a really off day. I can’t concentrate on anything. I don’t know. It’s a little short this week, but next week will be the final installment, then we’ll either launch into something else or have short stories for a few weeks. I’ll talk about it more next week.

Until then!

__________________________________________________________________

Part 1, Part 25

“surely if the wall comes down it won’t matter what happens to me.”
“We don’t know that, it could be a distraction.”
“Even if you get me out now, it could be weeks, months before free travel is allowed. There’s going to be all kinds of debates, discussions and legislation that’s going to be written. I don’t think me going through will be enough. That doesn’t constitute free travel, at least not in the way that matters.”

“Still, we’re going to try and get you out if we can. Even if it doesn’t change anything it will hopefully protect you if there’s some kind of magical rebound. I don’t know if the reset will protect you as you’re not technically a part of this.”
“Maggie did something to me, I don’t know what. That would cover me in terms of being protected, wouldn’t it?”
“It might.”
“Ok, so then don’t worry about me, worry about how you’re going to stop this. Are there plans in place for something like this happening?”
“Not that I know of, Max would know more than me, but as far as I know the council just assumed the wall would protect itself. I mean, what ever did this should have made the wall strong enough to withstand everyone in here.”

Outside the rain, hail and snow stopped, thick clouds still covered the sky, but everything was bright. They stopped speaking and moved closer to the windows, staring out. “Do you think it’s stopped?”
“No, the wall wouldn’t be glowing still if it was over.”

 

Max walked in the front door, “How did you get in?”
“The defences are down. They’re down everywhere. Magic is being drained from everywhere.”
“Shit. We should get out of here now.”
A hole appeared in the middle of the room, Todd stepped through, followed by Doug and the others. They were in a garden, though everything in it looked sick and weak.
As the last person stepped through the hole closed, “Defences are still here, they’re weak, but they are here.”
Doug could feel himself vibrating, the ground was trembling.
“The wall is draining power from everywhere, it’ll tear everything apart before it breaks down.”

“Look, over there.”
Max was pointing at a large, black barrier that was growing taller as they watched, “What is it?”
“It’s the wall on this side.”

“You wait here, we’re going to go try and stop it.”
“I’m coming with you.”
“No, you’re going to stay here. If we manage to stop it I don’t want you dying in the mean time. You’ll be safe enough here.”

 

About Alan James Keogh

I am a 26 year old writer who somehow tricked U.C.D. into giving me not only a degree in English and Classical studies, but an Hons Masters in Creative Writing too. Visit my blog where I post short stories twice a week (Monday and Wednesday) and an installment of a serialised novel on Fridays. I did consider writing this in the third person, as though it was written by someone else, but Alan is not comfortable writing in the third person as it seems kinda creepy and unbalanced so Alan decided it was probably best to write in the first person. He hopes it went well for him.
This entry was posted in New Town, Series and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Town. Part 26

  1. Pingback: New Town. Part 27 | Alan James Keogh

Leave a Reply

