Easyfood. Flash Fiction.

Happy Holidays! Hope everyone is having a good day, filled with good food and good family!

 

__________________________________________________________

“So you’re saying you’ve only eaten this for the last month?”
“Yeah and it’s working great! I’m losing weight, I don’t even have to think about food and I’ve no cravings for anything.”
“But it can’t be good for you.”
“It has all my vitamins and stuff, perfectly balanced. They wouldn’t be allowed sell it if it wasn’t safe.”
“I think I’ll give it a miss, just in case. I might give it a go in a few years.”
“You’re missing out, I save so much time because I don’t have to cook, worry about shopping or any of that. I just pick up a case of it every few days and I’m set.”
“What about your stomach? Surely you can’t feel full from it, it’s basically a paste.”
“The first few days were a bit of a struggle, I felt hungry, but after that it was fine. I just have a bit every now and then and I’m stuffed!”
“I don’t know. Eating from a tube, seems kinda creepy to me.”
“I think it’s futuristic really, I mean we’re supposed to have food in pill form by now so what’s so different from paste?”
“It’s not really the same thing. Besides, I’m sure there’s a reason we don’t have pill food yet, but if you’re happy with it.”
“Thrilled.”
Ben squeezed the blue tube into his mouth, “It tastes really good too. I don’t know what it is, I can’t really describe the flavour but I think it might be the best thing I’ve ever eaten. Plus, if I’m cold or anything, I can heat it up, it’s just as good hot.”
“Does it not go a bit…liquidy?”
“No, not at all!”

Tony shrugged and took a bite of his sandwich. “I think I’ll stick to regular food for now.”
Ben squeezed some more into his mouth, “So good.”

“What about exercise? Don’t you need to eat more if you’re working out?”
Ben nodded, “If you workout you just grab and extra tube and you’re fine, fills all nutritional needs.”

“I still think I’d just prefer normal food.”

Ben scanned the shelves, hoping that maybe a box had gotten knocked down or behind something, but they were empty. “Sorry, do you have an Easyfood tubes in the back?”
“No, we’re sold out at the moment, we’re supposed to get them back in stock on Thursday though.”
“But that’s three days.”
“Well, you could try one of the other stores, I think the pharmacy upstairs stocks them, same with the health food shop a few stores down.”
“Ok, I’ll try there then, thanks.”

Bens stomach grumbled slightly, he had run out of the tubes last night, poor planning on his part, and had to be in work early this morning. He hadn’t gotten a chance to get out and buy any. He was so hungry, but the sight of other food made him feel a bit nauseous. It just seemed so strange now, all that chewing and munching. He just couldn’t face it. He had tried eating a few things, a handful of crisps, which were far too greasy, and a sandwich, the flavours were too strong and it all kept sticking in his mouth no matter how much water he drank.

The pharmacy were out, something about their shipment getting delayed, the health food store too, apparently some asshole had just been in a few minutes before and bought up the last boxes. He sat in his car, stomach clenching painfully, the company website said they would ship straight to his house, but the price was three times what it was in the shops, plus a delivery charge. A wave of nausea washed over him, he entered his details and clicked send. He paid extra for express delivery, they’d get them to him in the morning, it would be a rough wait but it was the best he could do. A few moments later his phone rang, “Hello?”
“Hi, this is Julie from Easyfood, I see you just placed an order with us.”
“Yes, that’s right.”
“Well, you fall into delivery zone one, so we can get your order to you in the next hour.”
“That’s great!”
“I’ll have it set up to automatically add this to any future order at this address, we’ll ring anyway to confirm the delivery time that suits you. Thanks again for choosing Easyfood!”
He hung up the phone, smiling. He could get home in the next ten minutes.

He sat in the sitting room, waiting for the doorbell to ring, his stomach clenching sullenly. When the doorbell rang he leapt from the couch and ran to the door, after signing the form he took the box and brought it into the kitchen. He opened the box and ate a tube quickly, moaning in satisfaction. It might be three times the price, but it was worth it if it meant he didn’t run out again. As he packed them away he decided to order extra the next time, just to make sure it wouldn’t happen again.

About Alan James Keogh

I am a 24 year old writer who somehow tricked U.C.D. into giving me not only a degree in English and Classical studies, but an Hons Masters in Creative Writing too. Visit my blog where I post short stories twice a week (Monday and Wednesday) and an installment of a serialised novel on Fridays. I did consider writing this in the third person, as though it was written by someone else, but Alan is not comfortable writing in the third person as it seems kinda creepy and unbalanced so Alan decided it was probably best to write in the first person. He hopes it went well for him.
This entry was posted in Sci-Fi, Short Stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

