Just A Glimpse. Short Story.

“Becky? This is about Becky?”
“Yeah.”
“Jesus dude.” Dan rubbed his hand over his face, “If you’d told me that I wouldn’t have come.”
“I know. That’s why I didn’t tell you.”
“this is crazy, you know that. Turn the car around.”
“It isn’t crazy ok, just trust me on this.”

“No, I won’t. I know what you’re like when it comes to her.”
“I’m not like anything ok, I just want to see her.”
“yeah, and you’re not allowed. Legally, hell not even morally.”
“I’m not going to do anything I just want to see that she’s ok.”
“Do you even know where she is?”
“Yeah, I do.”
“How?”
“I’m friends with Donna on Facebook still and she tagged her. They’re going out tonight, it’ll be a party, no one will see me and no one will recognise me. Look, I know I went a little crazy before and I know that everything I did was wrong, I just need to see her ok? I need to know I didn’t fuck her up too badly. I still feel like shit over it all. I don’t even know what happened to me, I don’t know how I could have acted like I did.”
Dan groaned, “Fine, Jesus Christ fine. Here’s the deal, I’m going with to make sure you don’t do something stupid. We’re not even going to go into the party, we’re going to sit in the car and if you don’t see her after twenty minutes we’re leaving. If we’re caught I’m going to deny all knowledge of this. As far as I am aware we’re just on our way to a party out of town.”
“Deal.”

Dan felt his stomach churn, this wasn’t going to end well, he knew it but there was no way to stop it, but maybe he could mitigate some of the damage.

 

They pulled into a parking lot, “Dude, this is an apartment building.”

“well the party must be here then I guess.”
Dan scanned the parking lot, “I don’t see anyone going in. Besides, if it’s in an apartment you’re going to be seen ok? I thought it was going to be at a club or something.”
“So did I. Look, we’re already here ok? We can just sit and wait for a few minutes and see if she goes in, if she does great, we go home, if she doesn’t, less great, but we still go home. Deal?”
“No dude, I don’t like this. C’mon, we’ll just head back, pick up some booze on the way home and have a night in ok?”
“We’ve already come so far though.”
“Yeah, and now we’re going to make the exact same journey in reverse. C’mon, let’s go.”

“No.”
“No? You can’t just say no.”
“Well, I did. You promised me twenty minutes, I’m waiting for her.”
“She might not even show up in the twenty minutes. Look. We both know what’s going to happen. In twenty minutes you’ll demand just a little longer, then after that you’re going to want to go in. Let’s just go ok? Look if she’s going out to a party she obviously is getting better. Now drive us home and do it now.”
“Or what? You’re stuck here with me. I know you can’t afford a cab home, it’s only twenty minutes, chill.”
Dan sighed, “Look, I don’t want to do this but I’ll tell, if we done leave right now I’ll send a text to Donna.”
“You said you didn’t have her number.”
“I lied. I have it. I’ll let her know what you’re doing.”
“Are you still talking to that bitch?”
“No. I haven’t spoken to her in a few months. Not after everything. I kept it just in case something happened.”
“Oh, so just in case you needed to get me in trouble, is that it?”
“No, that isn’t it at all, I thought maybe she’d send some taunting texts or something dude. It would have been evidence to help you.”
“Yeah. Sure.”
“Look, I’m not going to try and convince you of my intentions. I just want to get the hell out of here and go home.”
“Fine then, go.”
“What?”
“Go. Take the car, you go home, I’ll wait here for twenty minutes then I’ll get a cab back.”
“You said it yourself, it’d be too expensive.”
“Then just wait with me. Why would you want to make me spend so much getting home when you can just wait?”
Dan rubbed his eyes, this wasn’t getting him anywhere. He glanced at the clock, they had already been talking for fifteen minutes. What harm could another five do?
“Ok. Fine. We’re waiting. We’ve been here for fifteen already, five minutes and we’re leaving.”
“What? No we said twenty.”
“Yeah, and we’ve already been here for fifteen, and I know you were watching too, so don’t try pull any of that I’m distracted bullshit. I’m serious dude, five minutes then we’re going. If we’re not out of this parking lot by then I’m going to call the damn cops myself.”
“You’d really do that? Call the cops on your best friend?”
“Yeah. I would. I don’t want to do it, but I will if I have to. You two weren’t good for each other man. You just need to let her go, ok? The constant cycle of getting back together and breaking up wasn’t good for anyone. It just messed with your head, then there was all that shit she did, you’re better off without her.”
“Maybe.”
“There’s no maybe about it.”
“Look! There she is!”
“Ok, you’ve seen her, let’s go.”

Dan tensed, readying himself to run after Ben. Ben smiled, “She looks good. I’m glad.” He started the engine, “ok, let’s go.”
Dan didn’t let himself relax until they were out on the road, Slowly he released the breath he had been holding. “That’s it?”
“Yeah dude, that’s it. I just want to see that she was ok. That was all. Now I saw her, I know she’s doing ok and I’m happy.”
“Really?”
“Really.”
“Ok. Well, how about we pick up some booze anyway, watch some movies when we get back?”
“Yeah, cool.”
Ben started to whistle, it really was good to see her, that bitch Donna had messed up. Sure she deleted the status within minutes, but he had still seen it. Now that he knew where she lived, he could come back at his own leisure.  Even better, he had a witness for the night. Sure, it would make him look bad, but then the best alibi’s did. He didn’t touch her, didn’t talk to her, wasn’t close enough to break the restraining order. Now, all he had to do was wait, wait and plan.

 

About Alan James Keogh

I am a 24 year old writer who somehow tricked U.C.D. into giving me not only a degree in English and Classical studies, but an Hons Masters in Creative Writing too. Visit my blog where I post short stories twice a week (Monday and Wednesday) and an installment of a serialised novel on Fridays. I did consider writing this in the third person, as though it was written by someone else, but Alan is not comfortable writing in the third person as it seems kinda creepy and unbalanced so Alan decided it was probably best to write in the first person. He hopes it went well for him.
This entry was posted in Drama, Short Stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

